Inform Your World

Increase Your Conversions With Effective Internet Marketing

Natural Creativity

Posted by James M. Helms on June 22, 2007

I think all too often we are taught to live by a pre-defined model. Some of you may have heard “stay within the lines, the lines are your friend”. This of course is a great life lesson when it comes to driving yet it should not be applied to every facet of our life. Creative thinking and skills are so valuable, I wish that I had been encouraged more to develop mine.

Watching my eight year old son diligently learn how to write his first webpage is very rewarding. He doesn’t want to learn web design so that he can conform to the strict rules of “xhtml1-strict.dtd”. He is wanting to learn because he can see that I am learning. He can see that it is a creative outlet and he wants to display his thoughts, art and interests to the world. I am really impressed, he is my inspiration as I watch him work tirelessly editing his own wrapper in Microsoft Paint and experimenting with colors.

I have pasted a quote from Plutarch on my website that says “The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled”. To me, this quote says it all. My son is a brilliant kid that only needs to be encouraged in his creativity. The result of which will strengthen him.

In my current situation I have an idea and it is daunting. Yet I realize that with a little creativity even the most enormous undertaking is possible. I am challenged to overcome obstacles that stand in my way and I need creativity to make it happen. Natural creativity is many times hindered by strict models. Though models have their proper application, they can hinder us just as much as help.

Leave a Reply

 
